João Saraiva

Departamento de Informática
Campus de Gualtar
4710 057 Braga, Portugal
telef: +351 253 604470 (ext 4433)
fax: +351 253 604471

email: jas AT di DOT uminho DOT pt
mobile phone: +351 96 4200918 (private)

My research papers are available from the following research indexing sites:

(otherwise send me an email and I will be happy to provide you with a copy)

Short Bio

João Saraiva is an Associate Professor  at the Departmento de Informática, Universidade do Minho, Braga, Portugal, and a senior researcher member of HASLab/INESC TECHe obtained a MSc degree from University do Minho in 1993 and a Ph.D. degree in Computer Science from Utrecht University in 1999. His main research contributions have been in the field of programming languages design and implementation, program analysis and transformation, and functional programming.

He supervised 4 PostDoc projects (funded by FCT), 8 PhD projects (5 awarded and 3 running) and over 30 (Pos-Bologna) MSc thesis. He has published over 60 publications in conferences and journals. He has served in over 50 program committees of international events, and in the evaluation committees of 5 research agencies: ANII (Uruguay), FRS-FNRS (Belgium), NWO (The Netherlands), FWF (Austria), and FCT (Portugal).

He has experience in participating and coordinating research projects in his research areas, both at national level with projects funded by FCT (projects: PURe, IVY, AMADEUS, CROSS, SSaaPP, AutoSeer,  FATBIT, and GreenSwLab) and at international level with projects funded by EPSRC (UK), FLAD/NSF (USA) and by the European Union.

João Saraiva is one of the founders of the successful series of summer schools on Generative and Transformational Techniques in Software Engineering (GTTSE), organized in 2005, 2007, 2009, 2011, and 2015 (volumes 4143, 5235, 6491, and 7680 of LNCS - Tutorial by Springer-Verlag) in Braga. He was the organizing chair of ETAPS'07, The European Joint Conferences on Theory and Practice of Software, organized in Braga in 2007, and a member of its steering committee (2007-2012). He was a founder and is a member  of the European association ETAPS eV for Theory and Practice of Software.